May 21, 2017

The 8 Limbs of Yoga – The Yamas

By Nirmala Raniga: When we think of yoga, we often picture crowded studios with students in stylish clothes twisting their bodies into difficult shapes. However, the true practice of yoga is much more than that. In fact, yoga is the Sanskrit word for union, the alignment of mind, body, and spirit. And, while the concept of yoga is simple, the practice consists of many facets. The most well-known yoga text is The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, which provides a framework for the practice of yoga. In this book, Patanjali defines the Eight Limbs of Yoga, guidelines to help us live fuller, happier lives. These recommendations are particularly important for those who have struggled with addiction and whose internal compasses may need some assistance to rediscover balance as they strive to recover. That said, whether we are addressing addictive behaviors or simply seeking greater fulfillment, the Eight Limbs of Yoga are universal practices from which we can all benefit. The Eight Limbs of Yoga are:  Yamas: The Yamas are guidelines to help us treat others as we would like to be treated. Niyamas: The Niyamas are our own rituals and practices. They are those activities that help us nurture the body, mind, and spirit. […]
May 21, 2017

Make Yoga Part Of Your Life | Sri Venu Journey Of healing | Nirmala Raniga | JoyTv | 2017

June 4, 2017


This week, we’re continuing our discussion on yoga philosophy— specifically the Eight Limbs of Yoga in honor of the third annual International Day of Yoga this June. In simple terms, The Eight Limbs of Yoga are eight important steps of a yoga practice that help us live fuller, happier lives. The Eight Limbs were created as universal guidelines by Maharishi Patanjali, who is considered the “father of Yoga”. Patanjali compiled the 195 Yoga Sutras (or primary Yoga talking points) that serve as the foundation of Yoga. Today, we’ll learn about the Niyamas, which are the second of the Eight Limbs of Yoga. The Niyamas are personal practices, rituals and daily activities for wellbeing and spiritual growth. There are five Niyamas that help us shape our personal behavior. The first Niyama is Soucha, which is the practice of cleanliness. Soucha not only refers to the cleanliness in personal hygiene, but it also addresses the cleanliness of our internal environment (our bodies) and our living environment. For example, one way to practice Soucha is by committing to the wellbeing of our environment and taking active measures to care for the Earth. Actively engaging in the internal practice of Soucha includes eating nourishing meals […]
June 6, 2017

THE WORLD IS OUR FAMILY – Vasudhaiva kutumbakam

By Yogacharini Maitreyi We have many worlds within I grew up with my grandfather speaking to me about one big family , of Carls Sagan, Aryabhata (an Indian astronomer and mathematician who lived around 3000 years ago) and of Greek gods. Though Aryabhata was popular, he mentioned how six thousand years even before Aryabhata Indians had advanced astronomical observations. He spoke of many civilizations and their ways. He spoke of  pharaohs being mummified as they thought that would make them live forever and of some Romans both rich and poor abandoning their newly borns in a practice commonly called exposure that exposed those babies to the elements.. He spoke of the best and the worst in each civilization.. He said  that though everything seemed larger than life for a child of 10 such as myself, all these worlds were within me. That is the beauty of the Yoga life where we see our highest and divine self yet are not afraid to see and shift our shadow or darkness as well. Positive vibrations from different cultures uplift. He loved Beethovan and I listened to the symphonies as well as listened to MS Subbulakshmi’s suprabatham (South Indian classical music)  and saw […]